Tell A Friend
Get Involved
Donate Now

Campaign Office
717 West End Street
Rocky Mount, NC 27803

Phone: 252-442-4022
E-Fax: 703-783-8553
Email Angela: click here
Press Releases / News > Dropout Oversight Commission Send this web page to a friend.
Press Releases and Campaign News

Representative Bryant Appointed to First Dropout Oversight Commission

“Keep Angela R. Bryant”
Experienced, Committed, Responsive
Working Hard for YOU!

Your General Assembly Representative
NC State House – District 7 – Halifax and Nash Counties

October 2007

"Group will study ways to improve state’s graduation rate"

RALEIGH - House Speaker Joe Hackney has appointed Rep. Angela Bryant as a member of the newly created Joint Legislative Commission on Dropout Prevention and High School Graduation.

The Speaker also appointed Reps. Dan Blue, William Current, Susan Fisher, Bryan Holloway, Pat Hurley and Cullie Tarleton to the committee. The Senate members are Sens. Joe Sam Queen, Charlie Dannelly, Julia Boseman, Clark Jenkins, Katie Dorsett, A.B. Swindell and Jerry Tillman. Rep. Earline Parmon will co-chair the committee along with Sen. Vernon Malone.

The commission is the result of the Speaker’s decision this year to increase the General Assembly’s efforts to improve high school graduation rates in North Carolina. Earlier this year, Reps. Parmon and Fisher conducted a series of public hearings about dropout prevention around the state. The hearings drew educators, parents, students and community activists eager to help with the problem. Rep. Bryant has sponsored local public hearings in Rocky Mount and Halifax County to provide hundreds of citizens, students, parents, elected officials, community leaders and school staff and faculty the opportunity to share their opinions, feelings and recommendations for reform regarding this important challenge.

    "I believe that eliminating dropouts and graduating 100% of our high school students is the most important thing we can do in Nash and Halifax counties for both human and economic development.  I will focus on creating the best conditions possible for our counties to accomplish this goal" said Rep. Bryant.

The General Assembly has also established its first Committee on Dropout Prevention. The committee is made up of 15 members appointed by the Speaker, Senate President Pro Tem Marc Basnight and Gov. Mike Easley. The group will determine which local school administrative units, schools, agencies and nonprofits shall receive dropout prevention grants. The General Assembly appropriated $7 million for the grants this year.

The Joint Legislative Commission on Dropout Prevention and High School Graduation will evaluate the programs that receive grants and decide whether expanding or replicating them will improve graduation rates in the state.

The commission will also review research on student success, study major middle and high school reform efforts and how they may influence the dropout rate, review the courses required for graduation and determine whether changes should be made and determine which strategies best help students remain in school when they are at risk of being retained.

Rep. Bryant is a first-term Democrat who represents District 7 encompassing part of Nash County and most of Halifax County.  As related to education and youth, she is a member of the Education Subcommittee on Universities, and the Juvenile Justice Committee and Vice-Chair of the UNC Board of Governors Nominating Committee.

- ### -

Paid for by the Committee to Re-elect Angela R. Bryant