Tell A Friend
Get Involved
Donate Now

Campaign Office
717 West End Street
Rocky Mount, NC 27803

Phone: 252-442-4022
E-Fax: 703-783-8553
Email Angela: click here
Press Releases / News > Bryant Will Not File 2018 Send this web page to a friend.
Press Releases and Campaign News

Angela Bryant Will Not Seek Re-Election 2018

For Immediate Release
February 12, 2018
For more information:
Contact Sen. Angela Bryant - 252-904-8070

After Twelve Years In Legislature,
Angela Bryant Not Seeking Re-election

Rocky Mount, NC - Senator Angela Bryant will not be filing for election on Monday at noon for the first time in six election cycles.  Sen. Bryant released the following statement today about her decision and the impact of redistricting on her district and the region.

“I am so thankful to the citizens for  the opportunity to serve Senate District 4 over six years - Nash, Halifax, Wilson, Vance and Warren Counties and House District 7-Nash

See Angela Bryant's Accomplished Record

and Halifax counties,  for an additional six years.  I was also briefly elected by the citizens of the part of Franklin county that became House District 7 in 2012, before moving to the Senate.   It is a blessing in life to get a chance to do something that I really love doing and, for me, that is serving my community.  I am proud of my legislative record which includes the enactment into law of  fifty-three (53) primary-sponsored bills, e.g. the sale of Electricities assets to Duke Power and thereby reducing rates, more favorable expunction laws and processes, creating local offender re-entry councils, requiring a public meeting notice before any change in municipal utility electric rates, reauthorization of Drop-out Prevention Grants, updating the use of and increasing 911 funds,  increasing funds and standardizing the process for public access cable channels, requiring annexation of certain excluded low-income communities, due process rights for parents of students with long term suspension, the 2010 re-enactment of the renewable energy tax credit and more.”

The five counites in Senate District 4, as a result of the redistricting lawsuit,  are now being redistributed over three districts – Senate Districts 3, 4 and 11.

“Primarily because of the “whole county provision” in the NC Constitution when properly applied without racial gerrymandering, counties have to be kept whole when possible in creating districts.  In addition, the “One person, One vote” provision of the US Constitution requires all house districts to have roughly the same population and the same for all senate districts. All of Nash County and therefore, my residence, was assigned to Senate District 11 encompassing all of Nash and part of Johnston counties.   Nash, at 95,800 in 2010 population,  best matches with part of Johnston to make Senate District 11 and hit the required senate population target of 193,000/district.  Nash and part of Johnston each make up about 50% of the District based on 2010 Census numbers.  This new Senate District 11 voted 58% Republican in recent elections and is 25% Black.  I do not believe that district would be a favorable district for me to run in successfully. “

“Designated now as Senate District 4, Halifax, Edgecombe and Wilson counties make a perfect three-whole county senate district in terms of 2010 Census population.  Halifax is 28.4% of the district, Edgecombe is 29.4% and Wilson is 42.2%.  This will be an open seat and a new senator will be elected from this district.  This district is 49% Black and voted about up to 60 % democratic in recent elections. Edgecombe County will be losing  Sen. Erica Smith whose Senate District 3 is now composed of six counties, Vance, Warren, Northampton,  Bertie, Martin and Beaufort Counties.  I am pleased that Sen. Smith is seeking her second term for the new Senate District 3 that will include two counites, Vance and Warren,  from Senate District 4 that I now represent. A career educator and engineer, Sen. Smith has distinguished herself as a formidable advocate for education, disaster recovery and job creation in rural eastern NC.”

“On the House side – Nash has two new districts.  I am pleased that Rep. Bobbie Richardson is filing for re-election for House District 7, that is now composed of all of Franklin County, based on the whole county provision, and five Nash precincts, Bailey, Middlesex, Samaria, Stanhope and Coopers, making up 23% of the district.  Rep. Richardson, a retired Ph.D. educator and administrator, is well respected as a legislator and has worked her way up in the Democratic Caucus leadership.”

“New House District 25, encompassing the remainder of Nash, about 81% of the county, will be an open seat.  I am pleased that  James D. Gailliard, who ran for House District 25 in the last election, is filing as a candidate.  He has shown amazing leadership in our community and garnered tremendous respect from all quarters.”  

“Last but not least, I am also pleased that Rep. Shelly Willingham, is filing for re-election, to his same House District 23, encompassing Edgecombe and Martin Counties.  He has shown savvy and staunch leadership and advocacy for Edgecombe and Martin Counties and our  Twin County region.  Rep. Terry Garrison of Vance County is also filing for re-election to House District 32, all of Vance, Warren and part of Granville County.  He has easily transferred his experience as a long time county commissioner into being a hardworking legislator and advocate for the Kerr-Tar Region.“

See links below for maps and demographic information on these districts:


Sen. Angela R. Bryant 

Committee to Re-elect Angela Bryant

District 4- Halifax, Vance, Nash, Wilson  and Warren Counties

Experienced – Committed – Responsive –Working Hard For You!!!!

717 West End St.

Rocky Mount, NC 27803-2817

252-904-8070; e-fax - 703-783-8553;

Paid for by the Committee to Re-elect Angela R. Bryant